Well, I suppose it’s time we posted something a little bit less depressing. So, ensuite, a couple posts I had intended to make earlier….

Date: January 16, 2008 10:05:12 AM
Topic: Voodoo Fête

So, the Fête National de Vodun, known affectionately as the “Voodoo Fête,” was kind of a bust. I headed down to Grand Popo, on the Beninese Riviera, to do some work on a tourism project and to see the festivities. Unfortunately for us, lunch ran long, and by the time we got down to the ancien village, all the fête-ing was fini.

Phoebe ran into similar difficulties in Abomey, historical capital of Dahomey. She and friends, at least, were able to visit the museum there.

Back in Cotonou, for a meeting and transit home to Huègbo, I was shocked back into the noise and pollution that is the capital city. And, let me tell you, Africa (Benin, at least) is LOUD. We thought we’d be spending time in the “peaceful village, the quiet village” of “The Lion Sleeps Tonight” and watching the stars at night. No dice.

Beninese people sleep about 6 hrs. a night, I would estimate. For the majority of the other 18 hours, music is cranked to the maximum volume on huge speakers and TVs blast. La bonté de l’électricité, I guess. Hopefully someday, the novelty will wear off.

For now, peace and quiet lies at the beach.